Primary School

Ready, Respectful and Safe

Inspirational 1590 Trust Executive Headteacher Honoured In Prestigious Pearson National Teaching Awards

Winner of Silver Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School is honoured today in celebration on National Thank a Teacher Day. 

Maria Carlton, Executive Head Teacher for Bewley and Kirklevington Primary Schools within ‘The 1590 Trust’ has been selected from thousands of nominations to win a Pearson National Teaching Silver Award. Maria was honoured with a Silver Award for Headteacher Of The Year In A Primary School for her outstanding commitment to changing the lives of the children she works with every day. 

Maria has now been shortlisted to win one of just 16 Gold Awards, which will be announced and celebrated at a gala ceremony in London on 25 November 2023 and televised on the BBC, with winners showcased on The One Show.

Maria provides leadership across ‘The 1590 Trust’ and Campus Stockton Teaching Alliance Leadership Board, has been a National Leader of Education and works for the Department for Education supporting schools across the North East and Yorkshire.

The 1590 Trust Chief Executive Louise Spellman describes Maria as a ‘great and  inspirational leader’ who leads two very different schools as Executive Headteacher and provides highly effective support across ‘The 1590 Trust’. This support is strategic and practical: Maria is always willing to get stuck in and help whatever the challenge. As a result of Maria’s magic, outcomes continue to improve across the Trust, and strong inspection results have been achieved.”

The honours have been announced on National Thank a Teacher Day, an annual event celebrating the role of educators across the UK for the valued role they play in communities and shaping young people. This year, students were joined by celebrities including Sir Michael Morpurgo, Edith Bowman, Bobby Seagull, Ore Oduba and Nadiya Hussain to mark their teachers’ achievements.

Staff describe Maria as ‘an exceptionally hard-working, immensely inspirational and resilient leader who selflessly supports and strives for the best for staff and pupils alike’. Gill Lamb, Chair of Governors at Bewley Primary School in Billingham says ‘Maria is an inspiration to her students, staff, and the wider community. The motto at Bewley is Bright, Proud and Successful, and we are all so proud to see her success in recognition of all her work for the Billingham community.’

The Pearson National Teaching Awards is an annual celebration of excellence in education run by the Teaching Awards Trust, an independent charity now in its 25th year, that recognises the life-changing work that takes place in education, highlighting the vital role educators play and the work that is delivered in schools and colleges every day.

Michael Morpurgo, author, former Children’s Laureate, and President of the Teaching Awards Trust

“I am inspired by the devotion of teachers and the huge impact they have on the lives of the young people they tutor, support, encourage and motivate day in and day out.  The valuable role they play both inside and outside the classroom has inspired generations of young people across the country to achieve their potential.   I am delighted to congratulate the winners of the 2023 Awards and thank them all for the amazing contributions they have made to our communities.”

Sharon Hague, Senior Vice President of Schools at Pearson UK

“We would like to congratulate today’s Silver winners on their incredible achievements.  We can’t underestimate the huge contribution schools make to our young people’s lives and Maria is an inspiring example of the positive impact an individual can have on pupils and communities.” 

Paul Matthias, National Education Director at Hays, sponsor of The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School

“The remarkable dedication of educators in nurturing students across the UK is recognised through the Pearson National Teaching Awards.  We are delighted to be associated with this celebration of educators and the profession’s achievements, and especially the Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School.